Do I have enough clinical experience?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted919245

Hi all,

I am a non-traditional student applying in the 2021-2022 cycle and was hoping to get some feedback on whether I should be prioritizing clinical exposure during my application year.

I graduated in '17 and have since worked exclusively in clinical/translational research. In one experience (~1.5yrs), I was a research phlebotomist, assisted during X-Rays and MRIs, interviewed patients about medical history, basic measurements (bp, BMI, proportions, etc.), done assessments for frailty, and consenting for clinical trials (discussing trial drugs, side effects, etc.). However, with some exceptions where research visits turn to clinical visits (due to concerns, and i stay to translate/assist), this is pretty much all for research.

In a separate research experience, I've had the privilege to travel with a transplant team to procure organs. While I'm there to collect research samples, the majority of these trips involves assisting with prep before surgery, during surgery (e.g. holding instruments, helping open the chest, holding things in place, tying knots, etc.), quick procedures outside the sterile field, setting the back table, and other tasks like that. It may go without saying, but these trips are all on clinically dead individuals. I'm also present during actual transplants in my home institution, but these experiences simply involve collecting research samples and watching the surgeries. Unfortunately the job's call schedule/unpredictability doesn't let me commit to any volunteering or other experiences, but it will be ending in the summer.