Do I suck?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iDoc12345

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm kinda having a nervous moment. I'm a PGY2 resident (first year ophtho). When I started ophtho residency on July 1, I obviously didn't know too much about clinical ophtho. But now it's Sept 1, and I still feel like I keep making mistakes in clinic, missing things on exam, or misdiagnosing things on calls.

I'm reading the BCSC series but don't feel like that's super helpful at being good in clinic. Any advice you guys have? Is this normal for other PGY2s out there or am I just awful?

Thank you :)

Members don't see this ad.

Not at all. The key is to know your limitations and be careful. The most dangerous residents I have seen are over confident and don't understand there is a ton they do not know. If you are always suspicious you might miss something then you will look harder, research more, and be more careful.

Keep your head up. You're doing fine.

Ophthalmology has a very steep learning curve, and at programs where the approach favors a more "thrown into the fire" it can be a rough adjustment early on. You should probably not feel comfortable on call until you're at least 6 months in. It's amazing how many nuances there are to an eye exam. At this point, you should just focus on being thorough. Frankly, you should be missing things right now, that's why residency is three years. You will be okay.

Members don't see this ad :)