MD & DO DO student looking for some info!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Natem_33

5+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello to anyone taking the time to read this,

I am a first year medical student at an osteopathic school. I know that thinking about residency already can be a little early since I’m only 10 weeks in, but I wanna set myself up for success early. I am highly interested in Ortho, I know...”people change what they think they are interested in during school” and that’s fine with me, but I’d rather still work on being as competitive as possible even if it does change. Maybe I’ll change my mind to another competitive specialty who knows, lol! But what I’m on here for is to see what I can do to really set myself up for success. I know research, crush rotations etc. but what I’m most worried about is step one being p/f. I wanna know what I can do as an osteopath student to really make me competitive If that test is p/f so that I can try to prevent any possible biases against a DO student who is being compared to an MD student who went to, let say Harvard, who also just “passed”. Any insight will be awesome. Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

You’ll want to participate in research and rack up as many meaningful publications as possible related to the speciality that you’re applying. LORs from prominent figures in the specialty may help as well.

• Love
Reactions: 1 users
Hello to anyone taking the time to read this,