Does anyone have any advise for studying for OAT in less than 3 months?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mina23shz

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys!

So I'm a first-gen college student in my family, and we moved to America from Iran about 7 years ago. I want to become an optometrist and what I didn't know is that I'm supposed to take the OAT the year before applying for Optometry school. I'm almost done with my bachelor's degree and set to graduate in spring 2021.
I was just told that I should take the OAT this summer to be able to apply to optometry school for fall 2021. This year is the year that I've also taken extra classes than I usually do, so my school load is higher and I barely have time to study for the OAT.
I was wondering if anyone has any advice on how to study for the OAT in less than 3 months since I don't have much time to prepare for it? Is there a certain book source you would recommend for studying that would be the most beneficial?

Members don't see this ad.

In terms of material, I think using Chad to recap on Ochem/ Chem/ and Physics is more than sufficient. In terms of bio, feralis notes is also a great way to review everything. I personally felt like the bio section was a hit or miss depending on what questions you got. DAT bootcamp also has a great free physics resource! Just make sure you do as many practice tests as you can. If you decide to do Kaplan, don't feel discouraged by those scores since it is far harder than what you will encounter.

Reactions: 1 user