Does Ivy League matter for medical school?

I'm a grade 11 student from Ontario who would like to study biochem in undergrad and go into medicine. I was just wondering, does it matter where you go for undergraduate studies in order to get into med school? And does the med school you go to affect your residency options and job in the future? I'm asking because kids at my school have this huge obsession with the Ivy League. It makes sense for the people who want to go into law and business because without a degree from a tier 1 school, you are at a disadvantage in those fields. But for the people who want to go into medicine, it makes no sense to me why they would pay those hefty international fees for a "brand name university".

If I go to a reputable Canadian university for undergrad and med school (Toronto or McGill), will I be at a disadvantage in med school applications, residency or jobs? And is the Ivy League really worth it for doctors?

Also, should I even consider applying? I'm an international and I would get little, if any, financial aid due to family income. Would that ever pay off? Or should I just work hard to get scholarships for Canadian schools to be better off?

ALSO, when you apply for undergrad, do Canadian schools consider course rigor and AP courses for admissions?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I e-mailed five medical schools about this, and the most popular answer was that as long as the undergraduate school you are in fits your academic capabilities well enough so that you earn a high GPA, the name of the undergraduate school does not have a huge effect on med school admissions - whether that's an Ivy or a state school.

I'd imagine that the reputation of the university's name plays a bigger role in engineering and business than medicine.