Does moderate risk chest pain get critical care billing? A case example and question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theWUbear

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a new grad and I'm doing my onboarding training for my new group - reading about critical care documentation.

Two important points I'm picking up:
  • There is no official list of what is critical care and what is not, it's interpretation of a rule that cites "impairment of one or more systems & high probability of imminent or life-threatening deterioration"
  • Patients that present with a critical appearing presentation (e.g., in distress, abnormal vital signs) and are later determined to not have a life threatening critical care diagnosis may have critical care documented for the critical care delivered for the perceived critical nature of the patient's original presentation

A case: a 58 year old hypertensive diabetic hyperlipidemic smoker with three cardiac stents presents in mild to moderate painful distress with a complaint of chest pain, clutching chest, mildly diaphoretic, states pain is like when he had his last MI. You research old records, you throw in your cardiac workup, you do your charting, your reassessments, maybe a couple sublingual nitros go in (no drip).

Troponin negative, ECG unchanged. HEART score 5. admit for 'chest pain with moderate risk of cardiac etiology', next.

Are you billing for 32 minutes of critical care time for this patient due to the perceived critical nature of his initial presentation for which you considered NSTEMI/STEMI? What features of moderate risk chest pain make you more or less likely to bill for critical care?

Members don't see this ad.

I would not bill CC for the patient you described. NSTEMI yes I would. Basic CP admission, no way.