Does my plan make sense?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MustIReallyThough

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I'll try to be brief. Basically I'm a psychology graduate considering options. Bit overwhelmed by all the different paths in mental health and giving each one serious thought.

What I'd really like to do is follow in the footsteps of some of my mentors and combine a PMHNP with a MSW. I feel like I'd make a great RN in the interim. However, I understand the valid concerns doctors have over PMHNP training. I have no problem working within my very limited scope of practice in this role as long as I put in the time on my own required to master that scope. I'd also plan to put in a couple years working the psych ward as a RN.

The end result would be more job freedom and financial security than a MSW would provide and more of a focus on therapy than a typical psychiatrist could expect.

Part of my reasoning is also financial. I need a solid job and to build up my resume and nursing would provide both.

What do you guys think? Am I missing anything?

Members don't see this ad.

Probably not much? Folks have mentioned there are other ways to get training post grad in psychotherapy as a NP. But I'd still like to undergo the training in the hopes it helps me be a better therapist

Members don't see this ad :)
The MSW coursework really doesn't emphasize psychotherapy. Most people with this degree that I know end up specializing in the post-degree supervision. Also, something to think about is where you want to work. If you can do meds, you'll likely spend most, if not all, of your time doing meds because of the financial reward structure in healthcare.

Reactions: 2 users