DPM 3 yr. residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PharmDr.

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am curious, I have heard that all DPM residencies are now surgical 2 or 3 yrs. long. Is it really competitive to get into the 3 yr. ones? I am a pre-whatever student right now(DDS/DMD,DO,MD,OD) b/c I have an interest in all those fields. I have shadowed all of the above and have researched quite a bit about them. I recently have had an interest in surgery but am afraid that if I go the MD/DO route that I might not be able to get into a residency.Also how hard is it to get a job if you do have a 3 yr. residency? I really like procedure based things like surgery as I dont think I would get too bored with my job over the years. Any input would be great.

Members don't see this ad.

PharmDr. said:
I am curious, I have heard that all DPM residencies are now surgical 2 or 3 yrs. long. Is it really competitive to get into the 3 yr. ones? I am a pre-whatever student right now(DDS/DMD,DO,MD,OD) b/c I have an interest in all those fields. I have shadowed all of the above and have researched quite a bit about them. I recently have had an interest in surgery but am afraid that if I go the MD/DO route that I might not be able to get into a residency.Also how hard is it to get a job if you do have a 3 yr. residency? I really like procedure based things like surgery as I dont think I would get too bored with my job over the years. Any input would be great.

Not too difficult to get a 3 year residency right now. There were 89 3-year spots open AFTER the match this year. Meaning, there are more residencies than students right now. The trend is moving in the other direction since applications are going up now, which won't be felt for 6 -7 years. I imagine that 3 year residencies will be the standard for all DPMs before long.