Dr. Collins vs. Kaplan PCAT Prep?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Potential123

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good evening, I understand this question was asked before. But I was wondering which one is better. I looked at the statistics for people who took the PCAT after Dr. Collins course and it was staggering. However, I do not live near the sites where the class is being offered. I do live near a Kaplan site and I could get a 50% discount. I was wondering should I consider making an investment to take the Collins class or the Kaplan prep course?

Members don't see this ad.

I used Dr. Collins predominantly but before I bought it, I got the Kaplan book instead and immediately went to the chemistry section. Needless to say, nearly 80% of the material I studied didn't appear on the PCAT for me so it was kind of a waste. I can't say much else about Kaplan, but Dr. Collins really helped me prepare well for the actual test. The $325 study guide price tag drives people away so try and find people who have a used copy and buy it from them for a significantly lower price (<$100).

Good evening, I understand this question was asked before. But I was wondering which one is better. I looked at the statistics for people who took the PCAT after Dr. Collins course and it was staggering. However, I do not live near the sites where the class is being offered. I do live near a Kaplan site and I could get a 50% discount. I was wondering should I consider making an investment to take the Collins class or the Kaplan prep course?