Dress Code for PT School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

artizzle

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have heard some people say they have dress codes for regular class in PT school? If you belong to one of those programs, what is the reasoning for it and how do you feel about it? Share your opinions about the idea and feel free to bash on what you don't think is right.

My school has no regulations about it and I feel that having a business casual dress code would interfere with getting to school (I bike) and a distraction (having to "get ready" by waking up earlier than necessary).

Members don't see this ad.

I think your friends meant "dress code for the labs" as even in my school proper lab attire is expected. Loose shorts and shirts. i doubt they want their students to be in business casual attire.

I am in my first year and our dress code is "gym clothes". For our labs right now we spend most of our time in sports bras and shorts for the girls, shirtless and shorts for the guys. On the one day a week without lab we wear jeans and we tease each other that we are dressed up.

Members don't see this ad :)
3rd year and we joke that our official uniform is the hoodie. At any point in the day ~50% of the class is wearing one. My school doesn't allow hats either.

I heard from my boss at the outpatient clinic I work at that Mayo requires white polos and khakis for gross anatomy lab, or at least that's how it was when he looked at it 10 years ago. I really hope that's not true (I'll ask when I go in for an interview. haha). Not like that would deter me, but phenol smell doesn't come out of knits very easily. :p

All the photos on PT websites seem to show students in ADIDAS jogging pants and t-shirts. Coming from a dance background (spent most of college in sweatpants and a tank top) I'll feel right at home.