flyingbridge

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 18, 2005
Status
Hi all,

Well, I just sent Drexel my app today for the PMED program (http://www.drexel.edu/med/ims/epbpm.asp) I went to DU already for grad school and left in 1996 with a 3.72. My undergrad from another school from 1989 was a (lousy) 2.82. However I have 15 years' work experience and am taking a class already in Biology at a local college (outside Wash, DC).

I wish I had "discovered" medicine/biosciences earlier. I just love this stuff. It seems to offer a lot of the things I can't find elsewhere in other fields - meaningful work that tangibly contributes to humanity, intellectual challenge, room for existential inquiry (we still don't know why anything is alive-- well as much as I respect the meditative tradition I think we may get more answers to this question via the study of living things) and hard work. Being 36, people tell me I am little nuts to be looking at such a drastic change at this point, but drastic is what's needed. My dad's a college prof and even though he is retired and in his 70s, he's still teaching classes. This is just how our family is. We are egghead workaholics! :D

So anyone who has applied/gotten in/gotten rejected/etc., feel free to post; when after the office gets the 2 letters of recommendation do they usually reply with a decision? Also, I know about Philly's housing issues, esp. as they were 6 years ago when I lived there. I would be moving back of course if I got into the program but would need an actual house, as I have 5 cats and I can't see them liking life in an apt. (giving these babies up is not an option - they are like kids to me). Since things must have changed one way or another over the past 6 years can anyone say soemthing about house-like (large condos, townhouses, houses) in Philly near the DU campus?

Peace, and good luck to us all!

UnskinnyBop

CC Deville Wannabe
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jul 14, 2004
from the fighting city of Philadelphia
Status