Easiest/Best State to Establish Residency for Admissions? - CA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Osteoth

Fake it till ya' make it
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

So this topic has been covered to a certain extent in other threads, but I wanted to ask a more specific question.

Basically, after my graduation from undergrad, I will be taking a year off, from June to June, until I will be applying for medical school.

What state could I/ would be advantageous to move to in order to establish residency in my year that I have before admissions?

So far I've heard TX, NY, OH, IL FL are good states to be residents of, but which ones have easy residency requirements at a majority of their schools?

Would gaining NY residency be disadvantageous to me since I am a CA resident and I have seen that the NY state schools look favorably upon CA residents/applicants?

Also, please keep in mind I am applying EXTREMELY broadly (~30 schools, if not more), so calling the specific schools would be a ridiculous time sink.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

So this topic has been covered to a certain extent in other threads, but I wanted to ask a more specific question.

Basically, after my graduation from undergrad, I will be taking a year off, from June to June, until I will be applying for medical school.

What state could I/ would be advantageous to move to in order to establish residency in my year that I have before admissions?

So far I've heard TX, NY, OH, IL FL are good states to be residents of, but which ones have easy residency requirements at a majority of their schools?

Would gaining NY residency be disadvantageous to me since I am a CA resident and I have seen that the NY state schools look favorably upon CA residents/applicants?

Also, please keep in mind I am applying EXTREMELY broadly (~30 schools, if not more), so calling the specific schools would be a ridiculous time sink.