Jun 23, 2013
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
Before everyone yells at me for this post (seems you all are mostly used to frantic pre-med whines and rants), I'm just curious about what you all think about this. Obviously medical school is an extremely challenging route and thus requires a moderately high GPA to show (some) mastering of scientific material. I come from a university that allows students to create their own schedules by professors, and often that results in students taking the "easy A" professors versus the challenging ones. As far as the class itself goes, there would be no differentiation on a transcript because both professors teach the same course. Additionally, many of these students take these "easier" science classes after taking an MCAT, so this wouldn't really affect their MCAT score. Sometimes the additional free time allows the students to pursue other activities, like more research and volunteer work.

As a student, I've done my best to stay away from those "easy" professors because I am genuinely interested in science and I would like to learn. However, I've seen many students make higher GPAs (around 0.2 higher) than students taking these same courses with more challenging professors. I've also seen students participate in amazing extracurricular activities and earning hundreds of hours in shadowing/volunteer work that other students didn't have the time for. Although I couldn't ditch my own challenging classes for "easier" ones, I'm curious about what you guys think.

Have you ever or do you plan on taking "easier" math/science professors to boost your GPA? Do you think that medical schools put too much pressure on students to attain that 4.0 - so much to the point that grades are more important than mastering the material? Do you think the slackers will "pay for it" with the end by struggling through med school material?