Ed Ego

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RUNNEROD

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a question, I got my undergrad degree in bio 3.56 GPA no plans for med school. My fiancee got his degree in political science and got into Wash U law school so I moved to St. Louis with him and got a job at an ED- just doing tech work. After working there I decided Optometry was for me. Low stress, regular hours, etc. ED physicians are constantly asking me if I am going to nursing school - in which I reply no Optometry. My question is - what do you guys really think about optometry.

Members don't see this ad.

The title of the thread is "Ed Ego" (which I gather you mean "ED" - as in "Emergency Department"), and your question is "what do you guys really think about optometry?"

A little deceptive there, maybe? And do you hold some grudge against EM docs?

No, actually most of the ED docs I work with are awesome and I really do respect them, I'm just wondering what they actually think of optometrists.

I doubt that most EM physicians/staff have particularly well-formed opinions of optometrists as would, say, your avg ophthalmologist.

My question is - what do you guys really think about optometry.

Hi Runnerod -- why does it matter? If you want to do it, do it. Don't let others' (possibly uninformed) opinions change your decision.

Best of luck :)

Seriously, there are many well-educated, informed people that question our decision to become doctors every day. If optometry is what you want, that's all that should matter. No matter what field you enter, others will have pre-conceived notions.

I'm just a med student, but I'm going into EM. I like my optomotrist. I've never heard anything negative said about optomitry anywhere in the hospital.