Emergency Medicine vs Rad Onc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bioengineer

The Usurpator
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
weird title for a thread, I know, but let me explain:

I have been interested in and hoping to get into rad onc since before med school started. I have 5 pubs all cancer related, a masters degree from duke, experience at St Jude, worked at MD Anderson for a month, etc. and I still really enjoy it; however, my step scores are 213 and 212 and that is an achilles heel of course. I will have really good LORs if I want them though, which should help.

Since my first year of med school I have been very interested in emergency medicine too. I have been an officer in my EM club and have done a 4th year rotation in EM and love it. I could see myself doing this as a career just as easily as I could see myself doing rad onc.

Any advice? I thought of applying to both and deciding on my final rank list by February. This would mean alot of applications to both fields and basically double the footwork. Another option is to make a decision now and sorta "go for broke" for one or the other. I'd love some advice from the veterans on this one. I've been posting and lurking on this board since 2005. Thanks for all your comments and help.

Members don't see this ad.

Dermatology vs. CT surgery!
It's hard to imagine that someone would be happy doing either of two specialities. ED is stress, time pressure, night shifts, working on Thanksgiving. RadOnc is completely opposite.

weird title for a thread, I know, but let me explain: