1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Emergency Room Only Night Shift pros/cons

Discussion in 'Emergency Medicine' started by muslimforever, Jul 28, 2015.

1. muslimforever

2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I'm an incoming medical student. I like multitasking efficiently, working hard, and applying my knowledge on novel problems. I like the concept of Emergency Medicine but I don't like the idea of having an irregular sleep schedule. How feasible is it to work only nights (how does it effect the rest of ones life)? Also if there are physicians who work only nights are there any averse health consequences?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Angry Birds

Angry Birds Angry Troll
    5+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    During residency, there will be no way to avoid the erratic schedule of EM. In fact, I will say that we probably have THE most erratic schedule of all the specialties, which is the significant trade-off we get for working fewer hours than others.

(I should note that when I was in my final year of residency, I would swap shifts with other residents, taking their nights in exchange for the God-awful evening shifts.... However, this was done under the table and could only be done to a limited extent, since you are supposed to get training in all the various shifts.)

AFTER residency, you could theoretically do all nights, and I do know some doc's who do this. There are definitely health consequences to this, especially as you age. Also, it's not great for family life. I know some people make it work, because they sleep while their kids go to school... But really I am a fan of the elusive 9-5 schedule now.

The more I get older, I realize that the 9-5 schedule is the most healthy schedule to have. Unfortunately, it's tough to come by in our field.