English doctor, how to learn path for step 1

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ugm12

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a doctor in England, just finishing my "foundation year" (intern year). With ongoing research projects in the US, I have been planning to gain ECFMG certification for a few years now.

From August I will start studying full-time for steps 1 and 2.

Bearing in mind pathology is not covered in the same detail at UK medical schools compared to the US, and I have plenty of time to study, should I work my through Goljan RR or use the popular pathoma resource?

I understand the pathoma/goljan debate has been exhausted across the internet, but these debates have been around "dedicated" prep. I have a good 9 months just to prepare for step 1.

Goljan appears to integrate phys well. I have also listened to his old bootleg lectures which are great. I cant imagine a 200pg pathoma book covers all the path I need for a high score.

Any thoughts very much appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Pathoma Videos are more detailed than book. He gives examples that are not in the book. Book is only basics, essentials. Also, in videos he draws concepts etc. For example total video time of second Chapter is 224min, while book is only 11 pages. In addition, I like Pathoma more because it's a visual learning too, he shows images (gross and histological etc), he draws graphs, sketches etc.