dentintraining

10+ Year Member
Jun 25, 2006
Status
Pre-Dental
Hi, I am a pre-dental student, and will be applying next year for dental school. I was wondering if owning a business is something that would help me be accepted, and how I could go about explaining the business in a way that the adcom looks favorable on it.

The business is a car audio company, I have had schematics drawn up, and several amplifiers, equalizers, capacitors, etc. manufactured overseas. The company is still very small, so I was wondering if there is any way I could incorporate this into my application, and if it would even be worth it.

Thanks for the suggestions.

The Wop

10+ Year Member
Jun 17, 2006
Status
Pre-Dental
dentintraining said:
Hi, I am a pre-dental student, and will be applying next year for dental school. I was wondering if owning a business is something that would help me be accepted, and how I could go about explaining the business in a way that the adcom looks favorable on it.

The business is a car audio company, I have had schematics drawn up, and several amplifiers, equalizers, capacitors, etc. manufactured overseas. The company is still very small, so I was wondering if there is any way I could incorporate this into my application, and if it would even be worth it.

DEFINITELY incorporate that into your app. Put it on your Work Experience and try to add it to your personal statement as well. I have 3 small businesses that I have started since high school. I also have had one "regular" job too. I think this sort of thing is important because doctors/dentists are notorious for being horrible businesspeople. But don't harp on it too much, they'll think you just want to be a private practice dentist and nothing else. Hit on the "service" aspect of running a business, whether it be car audio or dental implants.

Hope that helps.

djeffreyt

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jun 4, 2006
Dallas
Status
Dentist