EP vs Interventional

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DarkProtonics

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a community college student who is strongly interested in becoming a doctor, particulalry a cardiologist. My question is, how does EP differ from interventional cardiology, besides the fact they treat different issues? What makes them interesting? What's the lifestyle, compensation, and demand? Are there any emergencies? Why are EPs considered to forget everything else they know, like orthopedic surgeons? Is EP and interventional cardiology kind of like interventional radiology? Do EPs ever work together w/ interventional cardiologists? Do interventional cardiologists and EPs ever do work outside of the cath/EP lab, besides rounds? Do interventional cardiologists and EPs have to have a cardiac surgeon standby, in case of complications?

Btw, what does an EKG of a re-entrant arrhythmia look like? How do EPs figure out where an arrhythmia is coming from on that monitor w/ the colored map on it --an electroanatomical map?--, in a nutshell?

Thanks!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Thats alot of questions, man.
I have a little insight, but I have some of the same questions you do.

1. EPs do invasive procedures that deal with electrical problems with the heart, like ablations of WPW, etc... while interventional cards deal with coronary artery disease, so they do more vascular imaging and stents.

2. consequently, eps do less emergent procedures, because interventionals treat MIs.

EP is still a job that is foreign to me, but sounds appealing. It seems like they do scheduled procedures, working 10-14 hr days with call 1x/wk at most. i dont know how many spots there are every year, though, and I don't know how cmpetetive it is, but I would like to know