ER Docs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

exPCM

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Last edited:
I have found that many ER docs dislike their job and wish they could go back and transfer to a different specialty. This is my experience as I have been shadowing. What has your experience been?

I'm only a second year resident so I can't really comment, but you should realize that this probably isn't the best place to askthat question. It is pretty unlikely that an EM doc who hates thier job is going to be spending time contributing to a community like SDN. Shadowing docs is probably the best option to talk to a lot of different docs.

Members don't see this ad :)
I have found that many ER docs dislike their job and wish they could go back and transfer to a different specialty. This is my experience as I have been shadowing. What has your experience been?

It's true that there are a number of unhappy ER docs, but from anecdotal evidence I would say it's a smaller percentage than most specialties. In my experience the happiest groups of physicians were ER docs, pathologists, and pediatricians. The least happy were definitely general surgeons and family medicine.

I think the reason you see more EPs leaving the emergency rooms is that the nature of the specialty affords tremendous flexibility in hours worked and in location of work. It is much easier for an EP to cut his or her shifts in half or cut them out entirely compared to a CT surgeon or cardiologist.

I have found many more FP, and IM people who loathe their jobs and want to do EM.

Let's face it, all careers are tough and get old after a few decades.

If you are worried about burn-out, there isn't a single specialty out there that isn't affected.