Apr 11, 2010
Status
Pre-Veterinary
I graduated with a B.S. in Biochemistry in 09 with a GPA of 3.15 and a Sci GPA of around 3.25. I have shadowed a small animal vet for roughly 50 hours. However I have worked in a hospital pharmacy where I compound IV fluids for the hospital for two and half years full time while going to school full time and before that I worked in a pathology lab full time while going to school full time. The problem is I pretty much need to work full time while taking the remainder of the the pre-reqs to get into vet school so it makes it very hard to squeeze in time to volunteer or shadow. I have also tried to get a job at local vet clinics however I am unable to do so because of the pay and benifits I have at my current job are way better than what I would get at any vet clinic. My question is that with all of the healthcare experience (over 4,000 hours) would I ever be a competitive applicant for a vet program or should I maybe consider another route since my gpa is so low? Does this healthcare experience that I have help me in anyway even though it deals with people rather than animal?

moosenanny

UC DAVIS class of 2014!!!
5+ Year Member
Jul 15, 2009
CA
Status
Veterinary Student
I think that if vet med is your dream, then go for it! The healthcare experience will help you, but be aware that admissions committees will question if you'd rather go into human medicine. I Candy Striped for two years in high school, then had 1000's of hours with animals throughout college and nothing with people, and UCD still questioned if I ever wanted to be a medical doctor. As long as you have a strong answer prepared, you should be fine.

And, while your GPA is on the low side and will prevent you from being able to apply to some OOS schools, you can certainly impress schools by getting A's in your remaining pre-reqs.

I know this didn't answer all of your questions, but I hope it is at least somewhat helpful :)

moosenanny

UC DAVIS class of 2014!!!