Experience and Proof

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WannaBeVet

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I have heard that Cornell requires you to have a proof of veterinary/animal experienes that you have done. I'm still a first year in undergrad but I want to make sure I have this for all of my experiences that I am doing currently...

Anyone know anything else about this? I looked it up on their website but it doesn't really mention anything aside from what the minimum recommended is and the diversity factor.

Also would this proof be; a recommendation, a signed off timed sheet, etc?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

It's my understanding that Cornell requires letters of recommendation from every vet experience, which I think counts as the proof.

I think Whyevernot55 is right. In order to count an experience you need to be able to supply a letter from the person that supervised you. (So no letter, no "experience.") I didn't apply to Cornell myself, so you'll probably get better info from a current student or someone who applied this cycle. (But I do remember reading this about letters when I was selecting schools to apply to.)

OP, good work for getting ready so early!

Members don't see this ad :)
they require on their Supplemental application, when you list your animal/veterinary experiences, you have to have a letter for every experience you list. you Can, however, list them all on the VMCAS (the main app for all vet schools), and only include your typical 3-5 selected Letters of Rec.

i hope that is understandable, a bit confusing.

basically you list everything on the VMCAS, and then cornell's supplemental has you relist a bunch of stuff. and if you don't have a letter for an experience, you can't put it on their supplemental app, but they will still see it on the VMCAS.
how they 'count' stuff like that who knows.