eye exam when applying for optho?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

birdie

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is it true that oplthalmology programs require an eye exam for residency applicants? If so, what are the requirements? I'm a 1st year med student who is interested in opthalmology....however my vision is really bad....like -9.00 in both eyes.

Members don't see this ad.

birdie said:
Is it true that oplthalmology programs require an eye exam for residency applicants? If so, what are the requirements? I'm a 1st year med student who is interested in opthalmology....however my vision is really bad....like -9.00 in both eyes.

Hey birdie, very few programs require an eye exam. I think the only ones I ran into were UT San Antonio and (maybe) U Washington. Ohio State used to, but doesn't anymore. Even for those that do, I don't think they care about myopia. They're mostly looking for any serious vision problems or diminished stereo acuity.

Good luck in school.

P.S. Just for future reference, Ophthalmology has a pretty unique spelling... ;)

Mayo is another one that actually did exams during the interview day last year. I'm a -8.5 and didn't hear anything negative (no pun intended) about this. Obviously these programs do care about best corrected vision.

Members don't see this ad :)
What sort of eye exam? Color vision?

abcde said:
What sort of eye exam? Color vision?
i know one school that i applied to cared about an eye exam that included color vision, and one that i applied to cared about stereopsis. i don't think anyone else requires more than those two things.