Brain Bucket

Oh man, I forgot to bring the marshmallows.
May 7, 2013
Two steps from Hell
Status
Medical Student
Instead of worrying about what to do three years down the line, focus on now. Which classes did you fail? Remedial courses are typically much easier. If they were Physio/Biochem, you'll really want to get them down.

I know it's easy to say 'do well in the rest and ace the boards', but typically it isn't so easy. People who fail for whatever reason tend to not ace the boards and/or honor rotations. If you somehow manage it, then worry about where you'll end up. For now, be glad that you're an AMG and don't slip up. If we fail a single class in the first two years - it's sayonara.

As for explaining yourself, I'm no expert but my instinct: don't offer it, but don't hide it. If they bring it up during the interview process, be honest, but spin it in a positive light. i.e. what you learned from it / how it makes you a better physician etc. Don't play the victim.

OP
B
Dec 3, 2013
Status
Medical Student
Instead of worrying about what to do three years down the line, focus on now. Which classes did you fail? Remedial courses are typically much easier. If they were Physio/Biochem, you'll really want to get them down.

I know it's easy to say 'do well in the rest and ace the boards', but typically it isn't so easy. People who fail for whatever reason tend to not ace the boards and/or honor rotations. If you somehow manage it, then worry about where you'll end up. For now, be glad that you're an AMG and don't slip up. If we fail a single class in the first two years - it's sayonara.

As for explaining yourself, I'm no expert but my instinct: don't offer it, but don't hide it. If they bring it up during the interview process, be honest, but spin it in a positive light. i.e. what you learned from it / how it makes you a better physician etc. Don't play the victim.