Farewell SDN Friends

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Amy B

I miss my son so much
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well,
After many hours of soul searching and family talks, I have deceided to end my intentions of going to medical school. I think this week made my mind up. I got my first acceptance letter on Monday and for some reason that triggered my fear of losing more precious time with my kids. I actually turned the school down.

I have already lost so much these past 4 years as I did my undergraduate degree. My daughter was 3 when I started, My son just started middle school. Now fast forward 4 years, my daughter is 7 and almost done with 1st grade and my son is almost done with his first year of high school.

Time goes by so quickly and the moments with my kids mean more to me than anything in this world. I really don't know how med students with kids manage to spend time with their family and study, and be at the hospital. My daughter cried last week and said just how much she is missing me when I study.

I have thought about getting my masters so I could go to work as a microbiologist. It appears now I won't have to get more education. I have an opportunity to be hired as a microbiologist in a state lab. I will be working in the bioterrorist/ food poisioning division. This career path thrills me. I am fascinated with
this line of work.

I did want to thank all on SDN who have been there to answer my questions, concerns or worries. This is a great message board and I have enjoyed spending the last 2 years talking with you all. I hope you all get to follow your dreams. Life is precious. Treasure every moment of your life.
Best wishes to all and to all a goodnight

Farewell and God bless

Amy Beth

Members don't see this ad.