Feeling Overwhelmed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mreyno18

Reaction score
I am feeling very overwhelmed this semester. I will be applying this upcoming cycle and I have too much going on until then. I am mentally very stressed because I have so much going on and am not getting enough sleep or any downtime. I would love your advice on what to do.

Best Option: Drop something...
If I continue everything I am doing by the end of the semester I will have accumulated the following:

Volunteering: 900 hrs
Clinical Experience: 500 hrs
Shadowing: 100 hrs
Extra-Curricular: 575 hrs
Leadership: 350 hrs
NCAA Athletics: 2700 hrs
Research: 1050 hrs
TA / Tutor: 425 hrs

AT THE SAME TIME: I am studying for the MCAT (Take May 1)

Is there anything I could cut back on? If not what should I do, because I cannot keep doing this for the next 2 months before the end of the semester...

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
  • Care
Reactions: 1 user
Drop TA/tutoring, shadowing, and miscellaneous ECs at least. If you're not applying to research power houses or about to have publications, I'd pause or stop research. Personally I'd pause everything until May 2 personally, but I realize this will be an unpopular answer. Your MCAT score is forever and should take priority over everything else.

Reactions: 8 users
I am feeling very overwhelmed this semester. I will be applying this upcoming cycle and I have too much going on until then. I am mentally very stressed because I have so much going on and am not getting enough sleep or any downtime. I would love your advice on what to do.

Best Option: Drop something...
If I continue everything I am doing by the end of the semester I will have accumulated the following:

Volunteering: 900 hrs
Clinical Experience: 500 hrs
Shadowing: 100 hrs
Extra-Curricular: 575 hrs
Leadership: 350 hrs
NCAA Athletics: 2700 hrs
Research: 1050 hrs
TA / Tutor: 425 hrs