Final year vet student - struggling with career prospects

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

laughingoctomom

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm currently in my last year at vet school and I'm just feeling super lost.
I've really struggled to get through at times, it has kind of felt like every year I'm always aiming for the pass. I think when you spend so much time just worrying about getting through, the joy and excitement about why you want to kind of just starts to fade. I feel completely useless at everything, and I can't imagine next year going about calling myself "Dr" and having people trust my advice and decision making.

I find it really disheartening when I hear my classmates talk about how they have an insane passion for medicine or surgery etc and are applying for internships, or how they can't wait to move somewhere and do x/y/z. I feel like I have no idea what I want to do, nor what I should do.

I was trying to re-examine why I started, and what areas in clinic I really enjoyed but I mostly just recall intense feelings of anxiety and pressure. I know there are so many different areas to go into - but I'm worried say, that if I start in Government (for example), I'll forget how to be a clinician. Or that I'll just go into small animal GP and later on develop a passion in large animal repro that I'm too unskilled to start.
I don't know.
I just feel lost.
Has anyone been in my shoes? How did you find your passion and navigate all this stuff?
Any and all suggestions welcome :)
(Also I do go to therapy, so that base is covered at least lol).

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone,

I'm currently in my last year at vet school and I'm just feeling super lost.