Jun 17, 2020
Status
  1. Pre-Medical
So, I’ll be starting my undergrad hopefully by the end of this year. I’lll be starting a my local community classes and transferring to a university. However I still owe about $600 in tuition from another community college, will I have problems continuing to register again to continue classes ? Do medical schools look down upon applicants starting their classes at a community college ? I know I’ve posted some previous threads before I apologize, I’m just new to the whole process of making it into medical school.

Mar 14, 2019
Status
  1. Pre-Medical
So, I’ll be starting my undergrad hopefully by the end of this year. I’lll be starting a my local community classes and transferring to a university. However I still owe about $600 in tuition from another community college, will I have problems continuing to register again to continue classes ? Do medical schools look down upon applicants starting their classes at a community college ? I know I’ve posted some previous threads before I apologize, I’m just new to the whole process of making it into medical school.
Starting at community college is not ideal, but a lot of people do it for the same reason as you, and it won't kill you as long as you do well. Just a heads-up -- you are ultimately going to need to clear that balance at the prior school. Unless you pay it or they forgive it, they will not release your transcript, and without your transcript you will not be able to apply to med school.

It is highly unlikely, however, that another school will know about the balance (maybe they will if they are part of the same system?) and will refuse to allow you to register because of it. Either way, it is really irrelevant because you are going to have to pay it at some point, so why not now?

Last edited:

GreenDuck12

5+ Year Member
Mar 30, 2014
Status
  1. Medical Student