First step to med school: to shift or not to shift?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MihoMiho

Harajuku Doll
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, everyone! I've been lurking around here for a while now. But seeing that this forum is very much helpful, I decided to create an account. Hopefully, in the near future, I'll also be able to help out by giving tips and answering questions, too. ;DD

But for the time being, I shall struggle to emerge out of my noob status.

I'm currently a third year Nursing student (FEU Manila), and I want to take up Medicine after graduation. My choices for med school are FEU-NRMF and SLCM. I consider FEU because I'm impressed at how well FEU graduates perform in the licensure exams, and I've personally seen how the interns are in the hospital (had one of my duties in FEU hospital this year). For SLCM, I'm vying to grab hold of a scholarship, as I can foretell that my father won't be that ecstatic to support my tuition fee (he'd rather have me work abroad after passing the board and gaining the necessary experience). :scared:

I've already checked the websites of both med schools. I'm afraid that I'm seriously lacking most of the required units under Biology, Chemistry, and Math. My mom suggests that I should shift to BS Biology. But I only have a year to go to finish Nursing, and I don't want to waste my efforts just to survive the course, not to mention the money, too.

So, time-wise and money-wise, which of these options would be less of a hassle for med school? Shift to BS Biology by next year, or just take up the required units after graduation? My gut feeling tells me that it's the latter, but I want to get the facts straight, so I can present my defense properly and accurately to my parents (LOL sounds like a moot court scene ^^;).

I'd really appreciate help on this. Have to plan my steps as early as now! Thank you in advance! :)

Members don't see this ad.