First week as an attending

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

beyond all hope

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've just finished my first week as an academic attending.

I was post-call June 29th, and I moved to a new state July 1rst, and started working July 3rd. I didn't know anyone, hadn't had any orientation to the ED, I just had to jump in on a Monday in the middle of a holiday weekend (prescription for disaster)

The first day everyone thought I was a new intern because I didn't have the 'attending' hunter green scrubs. Despite that the residents, ancillary staff were great. I asked for things to be done and they were done....within a few hours. I had to rely on the residents to take care of details. I didn't even know where the bathrooms were.

Being an attending you have less control and more responsibility. I don't have the time to recheck patients, follow up on all the lab results, read CTs like I used to. I have to assume that things are being done as I'm reported most of the time ('the labs are normal, patient feels better, can I send him home?'). I only have time to check on critical details, otherwise I get behind in patient presentations and teaching.

It's great in that I get to practice the kind of medicine I've always wanted to. I've made some pretty risky decisions based on what I thought was best (sending home an 87 year old after a nasty fall because he didn't want to stay, for example), and I've made some poor decisions, some bogus admissions, and probably made a horde of mistakes that I won't know about until later. I've also made some pretty good decisions which made me feel like a real doctor.

(more later, have to go teach ATLS)

Members don't see this ad.

beyond all hope said: