First-Year DPT student AMA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

amlope03

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a first-year DPT student at the University of Kentucky! I remember having a lot of questions when I was applying to schools this time last year, so I'm willing to answer any questions you all may have!

Members don't see this ad.

Is grad school really that hard? I’ve been hearing stories how demanding grad school is and it’s starting to scare me if I can really pull it off. Is it that hard or just time consuming?

From my experience, I'd say a little of both; however, it's still doable. Grad school depends on a lot of different factors like the degree (master, doctorate, etc), the school itself, your undergrad experience, and so on. If you get accepted into a PT program that means they think you're capable of handling it, so don't worry about it too much!

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for answering our questions! Just curious as to how you chose to commit to your current PT school. I know acceptance/rejection letters aren't all out yet, but I'm definitely stumped on how to pick a school.

Was UK the best financial option for you or the best PT program that fit you as a person, or a combination of both? The tuition of all of my schools range anywhere from 90K-150K. There are some programs that I like better than others, but they are much more expensive than the programs that I am I would say, less interested in. My top choices are around the 120K ish range.