Florida psych residency programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MainerInNY

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm interested in applying to psychiatry residencies in Florida, particularly Miami as my boyfriend is from there and we are couples matching. I'm in NYC now and no one here seems to know much about programs outside of the five boroughs so I'm at a loss. Which ones are good? Which should I avoid?

I'm worried about competitiveness as I am the worlds most average medical student (Step 1: 220, High Pass most clinical rotations, Step 2 is pending). I have lots of research experience but its all in Genetics or RadOnc, with nothing in Psych. Anyone know if these programs are particularly impossible to get into?

Thanks for the help!!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm worried about competitiveness as I am the worlds most average medical student (Step 1: 220, High Pass most clinical rotations, Step 2 is pending). I have lots of research experience but its all in Genetics or RadOnc, with nothing in Psych. Anyone know if these programs are particularly impossible to get into?

Just a side note-- just because your research is not psych-specific does not mean it will not be valued by programs. For example, you may have learned specific techniques that can be applied to psych research. Or, your research background may demonstrate a certain degree of inquisitiveness or potential for leadership in generating knowledge in a different field.

I don't know anything about the Florida programs. All I'm saying is, don't sell yourself short.

Best,
-AT.

Hi everyone,

I'm interested in applying to psychiatry residencies in Florida, particularly Miami as my boyfriend is from there and we are couples matching. I'm in NYC now and no one here seems to know much about programs outside of the five boroughs so I'm at a loss. Which ones are good? Which should I avoid?