Forced to Declare a Major Post-Bacc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MIGLdr

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hiya all, I registered a while back at SDN but this is actually my first post!

I am a non-trad who'se just started this long and exciting journey. I got my bachelor's in business admin in 2003 and worked in IT Consulting for 3.5 years prior to deciding to do this.

I recently enrolled at a different 4-year university then the one where I originally got my degree for the purposes of completing my science requirements. (I have to take them all lol, the only thing I have going in my favor is having finished Calc 2 back in the day :) ) My plan was to just finish my year of inorgo/orgo/physics/bio, take the MCAT and leave for med school leveraging my original degree. This doesn't sound really out of the ordinary, and I'm sure most non-trads have taken similar paths.

Recently, I received a letter from the University where I'm taking courses at now, threatening to not let me enroll for classes for future terms because I have not yet declared a "major." This is the result of them having seen my previous transcript and transferred all my credits from my prior undergraduate work and going past x number of credits. I am currently listed as "Undeclared." So my questions are as follows:

- Will adcoms be confused if I declare a major for my post-bacc even if I don't intend to finish this major? (Assuming I just declare something to get this university off my back)

- Should I fight this decision to remain undeclared?

- Is anything in my situation I described above really out of the ordinary? By this I mean, should I have returned to the same school I got my original degree from? This would have been logistically difficult (impossible actually) for me.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.