Forced To Resign Residency Before Termination - What Now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Craig 831

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an MD Psych resident nearing the end of my PGY1 at a major medical university hospital.

Just as I began my residency, I was diagnosed with a serious illness that required an aggressive Cytoxin and Prednisone treatment for the first 7 months of my residency.

I performed poorly due to the extensive side effects of the treatment and pain medications. This was further compounded by my selection of a residency program that was fast-paced and highly demanding which may not have not been best-suited for me.

Unfortunately, I was given an academic warning and later placed on probation.

Even tho I am now in complete remission, the ACGME Committee is suggesting a "best case" option that I resign my residency after coming off the probation and then successfully completing the last 2 months of my PGY1 requirements. Otherwise, they will feel compelled to officially terminate me prior to that.

My question is that if I indeed resign in the manner alluded to above, what can I possibly do to salvage my medical career from that point on?

Has anyone here had enough experience to assess what my prospects are for obtaining another residency or possibly practicing medicine without a residency after successfully passing Step III?

I would also really appreciate any advice, guidance, or referrals to web-based resources or individual advisers that can provide detailed information to help me best navigate this situation.

Thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user