Former Employer question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DPPM

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
How important is it to leave on a good relationship with an employer (in the context of applying to med school)?

Here's my situation: I'm an accountant working for a CPA firm (I've been there for only five months), but I decided a little while ago that I want to pursue a career in medicine. I'd like to leave right now to start on prerequisites and volunteer experience, but I'm worried that since it's busy season (peak time of year for accountants), it might leave my current employer sour.

So my question: by leaving now, would I later on risk a prospective med school calling my employer and finding an employer with not-so-nice things to say, or should I not consider this? I am certain that I am going to leave to pursue medicine, it is simply a question of now or later. Advice would be sincerely appreciated. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

DPPM said:
How important is it to leave on a good relationship with an employer (in the context of applying to med school)?

Here's my situation: I'm an accountant working for a CPA firm (I've been there for only five months), but I decided a little while ago that I want to pursue a career in medicine. I'd like to leave right now to start on prerequisites and volunteer experience, but I'm worried that since it's busy season (peak time of year for accountants), it might leave my current employer sour.

So my question: by leaving now, would I later on risk a prospective med school calling my employer and finding an employer with not-so-nice things to say, or should I not consider this? I am certain that I am going to leave to pursue medicine, it is simply a question of now or later. Advice would be sincerely appreciated. Thanks.

Hi there,