dentalpath

Dental Student
Jan 28, 2010
Status
Dental Student
So I have been actively reading this forum for a while now and following all of the awesome study tips.
I recently graduated from NYU with a Masters in Healthcare Management. But after working in management, I realized I need to go back to the clinical aspect of healthcare (administrative management is so not for me) which is where I decided to pursue dentistry.
I have a Bachelors in Biology and my overall GPA is a 3.77 with a science GPA of around a 3.7
I have been concentrating on detrsoyer and all the practice problems but I still miss about 5-6 bio questions when I attempt to do 40 (just like the real test) at one go. I feel like I am prepared for BIO and gen chem (working vigorously to get ochem in control) but when I miss these 5-6 random questions, I wonder if this level is similar to the DAT. I guess am sort of a nervous wreck right now. I seem to be doing really well in the QR section of the destroyer so am set there. And I have CDP for the PAT, so far scored 17 on three tests. Hopefully it will go up to at least a 19-20 over the next few weeks. If anyone can give me any suggestions about improving angles and improving the bio scores (I have cliffs by the way) I would be so thankful!!

crew09

5+ Year Member
Jun 13, 2009
Status
Pre-Dental
Generally people who've benefited from destroyer say it helps to have a good foundation before starting the problems.

The consensus seems to be gchem destroyer and destroyer in general tends to be slightly more difficult than the actual test, but that's a good thing.

When your reading the explanations do you see the mistake right away or is it more of an issue of understanding concepts? Perhaps hitting textbooks, wikipedia etc on topics your consistently missing can help build a better foundation.

Also, I'm not trying to hijack the thread but i'm curious as to what aspects of health care management you don't like?

Jan 9, 2010
Arizona
Status
Pre-Dental