Freshman

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bas0912

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Alright guys.

Well I'm a freshman right now at ECU just got done with my first sumester at school and I'm considering going into podiatry. Right now im majoring in bio and i like it so far i was just wondering what would probalby be best to do right now and for the rest of the three years im here to help me get into a good podiatry school. After this first sumester my GPA is a 3.42 kinda slacked in my eng and math class but did good in my sciences got a A in general biology and biology. Also got a B in general chem and a A in general chem lab.

Thanks guys

Members don't see this ad.

you're right on track. keep it up!

Our pre-med advisers at my institution gave our pre-med seminar class these guidelines on how to be a competitive allopathic applicant. We have yet to have any individual from our school (since the current profs took over as the health sciences committee) do these 6 things and NOT get accepted to medical school. I know this is a podiatry program but I think its something good to shoot for...

1. 3.6 cumulative GPA

2. 27 on the MCAT with a 9 IN EACH subject, its their opinion that a 9 9 9 looks better to medical school admissions than a 7 11 9 (with your 7 being in one of the science and your 11 being in verbal or the other science).

3. have logged 500 clinical hours (can be anything related to medicine pretty much and should include shadowing pods in the case of a pre-pod...personally, I count my ski patrol work as clinical so this area can be covered by a wide range of activities)

4. have logged 500 hours of altruistic community service (something separate from your clinical hours, again, well-roundedness is the key)

5. Have taken all pre-reqs (if you're a science major this is a given)