From ortho to... IM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ortho_confused

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am currently training in ortho and thinking about switching to IM. I think I don't like it anymore. I'm not depressed or burnt out. I'm a good resident and I have great relationship with everyone on the program. I just don't enjoy it anymore.

I went into it first hand for the trauma surgery. Boy I loved it when I was a med student! It was such a thrill. I also was very interested in every other aspect of the career. After 2 years of residency, not anymore. I don’t dislike it, it just feels very mildly interesting. And the more the residency progresses, the more I'm asking myself why am I working and studying this hard for something that I'm not passionate about.

I had a 2 months ICU rotation some months ago and had such passion dealing with complex medical problems, a passion that I don't think I have felt since the start of my residency. I was good at it too. And for some reason, the mental process of dealing with dying people (and sometimes saving their life) felt much more rewarding than all the surgeries I've assisted.

Since then, I can't stop thinking about switching to IM but I'm terrified at the idea of losing that passion again and later regret it. In the other hand, if I get bored again at least I would have a nicer lifestyle. I don't care (much) about the money, I love it as much as the next guy but not over my happiness.

It's pathetic that I'm 2 years into residency and I still don't know if I prefer a medical or a surgical speciality.

Has anyone insights about this?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hey everyone,