Gap year -- corporate or research?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ghrund102

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there! I am a nontrad thinking about my gap year options (likely 2+ years). Currently deciding between corporate life, which pays better, or an academic position, which does not pay generously, but may be better suited in the long-term for a career in academic medicine, which I am considering.

Mores specifically, I have an offer for a corporate role in the pharmaceutical industry. I am excited about the role, and I'll get to live in a great city. However, I imagine that research opportunities will be harder to schedule in during medical school, and wonder if it would be wiser to get research experience/authorship before attending medical school. I have some lab experience from undergrad (many years ago...) but nothing which is reflective of my more recent interest in medicine.

Let me know your thoughts!

Members don't see this ad.

There are research opportunities in medical school if you want them (particularly at the research powerhouses, some of which require a thesis meaning that everyone does some research).

Applicants to medical school who are working in desk jobs in academic medical centers are ubiquitous. They are cheap and eager labor. I've not seen them helped, nor hurt, by such work experience. The problem for the applicant arises when one does not get into medical school and there is no upward path. and a career stalls.