Gap Year for Non-traditional

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

famousbanker

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a non-traditional student who failed to get into dental school last year mainly due to my poor DAT (17 the first time). I got a 23 the second time. GPA is 4.0 in prereq classes and 3.7 cumulative.

I work full time and have been taking most of my prereqs at the local community college in the evenings with 1 upper level bio at a 4yr (Human Physiology)

Heres is what I did-->
Fall 2010
Physics 1
Anatomy
Cell Bio(Introductory level 4 yr)

Spring 2011
Chem 2(4yr)
Organic 1
Human Physiology(4yr)

Summer 2011
Organic 2

Fall 2011
Biochemistry(4yr)
Microbiology

Spring 2012
Zoology
Public Health

Fall 2012
Physics 2

Physics II is my last prereq course. No other upper level bio courses will fit with my work schedule this semester so I am taking it by itself and continuing to shadow at a dental clinic 1 night a week after work. Should I try to pursue some sort of online 1 year medical science masters? A rep at the admissions office for my state dental school said no.

Personally, I hate the idea because it is 25 grand I will have to put on loans. I have tried to do most of this debt free so I have been paying for these classes out of pocket which has been very challenging.

I just wanted to see if there is anything else I should be doing to make myself more competitive to ensure I get in this year. BTW, my wife and I plan on either doing a long term medical missions trip( like 2 months) in the Spring or I will take another upper level bio at 4 yr university(FYI scored 22 in bio second time on DAT), so if someone could comment on that to, it would be helpful.

Members don't see this ad.