Gap Year MS vs Undergrad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Heavyd84

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a Senior student-athlete with a 3.2 GPA, recently decided I want to do medical school instead of PA school. I am planning on applying to both DO and MD schools. I cannot apply in the current cycle, so I will be applying in the spring/summer of 2016. My advisor recommended me to do a 1 year masters program to try to make my low GPA not look as bad. Since DO schools do grade replacement, I was thinking about doing an extra semester of undergrad and retaking 2-3 classes I got C's in to help the GPA. If I retook those classes and finish out this year well I can probably have a 3.4-3.5. Would that be more beneficial than doing the masters in biomolecular science? I plan on taking the MCAT in January. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Yes. If you don't care whether MD or DO and just want to be a physician it would be easier and not to mention way cheaper to just retake those classes in another semester. This would put you in a competative range for all of the DO schools (with a solid MCAT of course). I think this would be way more beneficial to you and your future than wasting time and money in a masters program. Not to mention a faster route to medical school. What is your science GPA?

Alright, that's what I was thinking. My science GPA is 2.9, but after this year should be around 3.2. I still haven't taken Physics, so that will help the science GPA and if I retake 2-3 easy C's that would get me close to 3.5 probably. It seems like GPA and MCAT are the things that get interviews, not as much grad programs. I would still like to graduate Spring 2016, but I could retake those classes after graduating and still count right? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad :)