Gender-based Affirmative Action

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Class2014

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to student doc and I have been reading through posts and what alarmed me was the intense debate on AA and the arguments were highly based on race.

Why do some of you forget that Affirmative Action benefits women as well? White women, black women, all women. So why is there no debate about the advantage of women in the admissions process? Clearly we see that in some medical schools, there are about 56% women/ 50% men enrolled. Wow.

Why do we forget to talk about women who benefit. We are so focused on race based affirmative action. Let's talk about gender based affirmative action!

Why do we get silent about women? Is it because white women are included in the affirmative action clause? Did some of you bother to read how affirmative action evolved?

I am not bashing on women. My point is that a lot of the discussions here are not balanced and quite frankly, uneducated.

Oh and my fellow white males, why are you concerned about a black person taking your seat? The last time I read, there were way more white males in medical school. There's a reason why they are called under represented. Cause they are! So stop hating on them. Appreciate that this system, though not perfect, is trying to be fair. Hec, if there were no racism, prejudice, sexism I would say there is no need for AA. But let us look at our nasty history guys....it's not even history ....look at the present situation. We embrace those who hate us but we hate on our fellow African Americans who helped build this wonderful country (forced and unforced). Let us stop the hate! Appreciate!

Someone, please explain to me the culture of studentdoctor. I thought I would be reading some intelligent posts. You guys want to be doctors? :(

user_online.gif
progress.gif

Members don't see this ad.