General and Interventional boards

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DirtySouth79

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been a long time lurker but never posted until now - used this forum in residency and cardiology/interventional fellowships, had wished there was more info on boards.

Now that I'm finished and passed both I wanted to post my experience.

First, I'm an American grad from a middle of he road southern internal medicine program. Made 212, 225, and 217 on steps 1-3

For general cardiology boards, used O'Keefe for ECG section, and did ECG SAP - O'Keefe overcodes compared to boards, ECGSAP much closer to real boards. Got 92% of ECGs on actual boards.

For multiple choice Qs, watched Mayo DVDs and took notes. I knew this info pretty well. Also did Mayo questions, and ACC SAP questions - was about 50th percentile on this section.

Imaging section was new the year I took exam (2011) - the things you would expect to be on this showed up. I'm not an echo guy - probably got most of the Cath images ( I'm interventional)

For interventional boards - once again, watched the Mayo DVDs. Read some of Cath SAP. Did all of CathSAP questions, lots of questions from "1001 questions". Lots of stuff on recently approved new meds (anti platelets, antithrombotics).

I know I was very anxious preparing for these exams and for someone like me I have t o put in the work to pass. However, that being said, if you put in the time, both are very doable

Members don't see this ad.

Thanks for sharing your experience!

Very concise and helpful. Thank you.

OP

Members don't see this ad :)
I just took cardiology boards in November 2012 (and passed). Here is what I used to study (and what I feel was helpful in hindsight).