Geri psych "worth it"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NeuroKlitch

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a Psych resident in new york right now debating endlessly if I should do a fellowship. Right now Geri psych and neuropsych have caught my interest . What i see myself doing in the future is working shifts in a psych emergency room either 24s, 12s , and ideally at night , would like to find high paying locums that pay hourly like 200+/hr. On the other hand , I would also like a stable (chill) gig, like contracting with a few nursing homes that I would see on the other days of the week . I know this is all possible without fellowship , but would be I stepping on my own toes by skipping the training . I'm terms of being able to land the job. I would only apply to name / "prestigious" programs , with the idea that it would give me the edge in securing those contracts. But I'm wondering it's even necessary at all and I'm only competing against myself or doing it for my ego. Not interested in academics. Just love old people ans the cpep and want to make big money . Thanks any suggestions appreciated

Members don't see this ad.

On paper, and not interested in academics, simply not worth it.
But sometimes you just got to do what you love. One benefit of the fellowship will be to strategically plan your future private practice. You will get a daily view of a Geri Clinic and what is good and bad with how its run. You can then take that knowledge to shape your future practice. If you are also willing to do nursing homes, you will potentially have a full robust clinic in less than 6 months.

Pick where you want to live. Create your own practice, and make very clear on your website you are a Geriatrician. Pick your age, 65+ or 60+ whatever it might be.