Getting a hospital tech job as a pharmacist for the experience?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GravityBeetle

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been a retail pharmacist for a couple years now and to be honest I don't mind it, but I feel like my career growth is stagnant and I yearn to do something different. My clinical knowledge is still pretty fresh in my head, but I would hate to see it slip away.

However, hospital positions seem goddamn impossible to land, even part-time/per diem, especially since I have no hospital experience outside of P4 rotations. I know a lot of people suggest finding a position in a rural area and moving there and I am looking into that, but even that is difficult as it would have to be full time or I would have to find another part time job to support myself while paying off my loans. So I was thinking would getting a part time tech at a local hospital be a good idea to get experience and become a more desirable candidate? Has anyone done this? Would the hospital even consider you for that position?

Other than that I don't know what to do at this point and kind of getting depressed about it... I regret not doing residency and would definitely be open to doing one in the future if that is at all possible, but I decided early on in pharmacy school to go the retail path due to financial reasons.

Members don't see this ad.

First post.

Asking if --- as a pharmacist --- you should work as a technician.

Here's a newsflash. They won't hire you as a technician. The hiring manager will assume something is terribly, terribly wrong with you as a candidate.

Reactions: 1 users
Yeah, don't apply as a technician. Bad idea.

At this point, the way I see it, your options are fairly straightforward:
1. Do a residency. Still not a guarantee of getting a hospital job in an urban area. This option obviously involves taking a serious pay cut.