Getting an MPH before MD/PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

flashcard

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I wanted to know what MD/PhD programs think of people who get an MPH before applying for MD/PhD programs.

1) I already have a ton of research experience, so I am not worried about this aspect of my application.

2) Though I love basic science research (and am committed to having a future career as a physician scientist), I am really looking forward to doing a master's in public health and incorporating what I learn into my career.

However, will schools want to see that I do research during my year off instead of doing an MPH? Does anyone have any experience in this?

Members don't see this ad.

I have no personal experience, but I could totally see you selling this re: clinical-translational research. If your research could intersect with Epi sorts of things, it may be a valuable experience.

I know many MSTPs are interested in training basic science researchers, so you might have to find a program that fits your interests.

My impression about the type of work MPH's do is that it is extremely different from basic science research (PhD type) work.

While it certainly wouldn't hurt your application, I would be curious to know how realistic it is that you can do both types of work in one career, given that they seem to be on almost opposite ends of the research spectrum.

Anyway, not to be a cynic, as I think you should make anything that you want to do work for you, I just feel like I have talked to a lot of UGs who don't really understand what an MPH trains you for (usually these students are interested in doing international clinic work).

Members don't see this ad :)
I would be curious to know how realistic it is that you can do both types of work in one career, given that they seem to be on almost opposite ends of the research spectrum.