Getting an MS. in Biology before getting my MD/PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

What should I do?

• Masters degree and wait a year to take the MCAT

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Masters degree and still take the MCAT this year

Votes: 2 40.0%
  • Just do research while you prepare for the MCAT this year

• You dont need the Masters degree

• Total voters

mimikaleem

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I recently graduated with a cumulative GPA of 3.9 with a biology degree. I took the MCAT the end of my junior year but my scores were below average.
I know and understand my scores were terrible and I am preparing all over again and studying for the MCAT beginning this June.
Furthermore, I am an international student and understand the difficulties in getting into medical school in general as a foreigner in the USA.
My goal is to pursue an MD/PhD- I believe that is my passion/ plus I know there are some funding for foreign nationals. I recently got accepted to a reputable school for an MS in Biology with funding (a full academic tuition and a stipend of $ 10,000/year). I also have an job offer in another university for 6 months to do research in plant genetics. Furthermore I am interning this summer in another university.

As a foreigner to stay in the country- I need to be in school or researching to be legal in the country beginning this fall.

I know my ultimate goal is to go to Medical school but is pursuing a Masters Degree in Biology at my current situation worthwhile and will it be a plus for an MD/PHD?

I will be probably doing my research in genetics.

Should I go for a non-thesis or thesis?
I am open to all suggestion and even open to other opportunities that might be of benefit to me.