getting back into pharmacy 2014 grad

Discussion in 'Pharmacy' started by baronzb, Aug 3, 2015.

1. baronzb

2+ Year Member

I am a 2014 grad. I took a hiatus for a non-pharmacy related one year masters. The middle of next month, I will take the Naplex. I have an out-of-date retail internship from a couple years ago, a couple rotation (retail) references and a reference from my dean I worked with on projects.

At this point, I really don't know what to do to get work. I'm open to any position, part time, full time, etc. Should I try for another intern position? Can I apply to states I don't have a license in? Are there any recruiters out there? I was hoping to work in my area, but it is saturated and I am willing to move.

School left me high and dry and there is no career center. I'm open to advice and guidance, along the lines of finding work, from the great people on this forum.

2. Z-Qualizer

2+ Year Member

Non-Student
    Just curious... after earning a pharmd, what made you decide to go back to school for a non-pharmacy related masters? If you wanted to go to school an extra year, why not a PGY1? Or did you try for one and not get it? Also, what did you study in this masters program?

3. BidingMyTime

BidingMyTime Lost Shaker Of Salt
    10+ Year Member

Pharmacist
    No one is going to hire you as an intern, since you are already licensed as a pharmacist. All you can do is just keep applying, especially to non-desirable areas, eventually someone will hire you, then once you get some experience you can look to transfer back to the area you want to live.

4. farmadiazepine

7+ Year Member

Pharmacist