Getting back to Canada

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cbest

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everybody,

Just wondering if any Canadians went to medical school and completed residency/fellowship in the US and then made it back to Canada to practice. Specifically, I'm looking into Alberta and Ontario. I'm in my final year of Physiatry (PM&R) and am doing a Pain Medicine fellowship next year. I'm planning on becoming board certified in the US through the ABMS in both PM&R and Pain, which, based on my research, should make things just the slightest bit easier. Really, I just want to know what I can do to get back and be able to practice with as unrestricted a license as possible right from the start. Do I have to become board certified in Physiatry through the RCPSC? Should I just take the MCC exams? For anyone who has been through this convoluted journey, can you walk me through the process you took? Anything to make this process easier. Thanks in advance!

cbest

Members don't see this ad.

The best resource in Ontario is Health Force Ontario. Register with them on their website, and ask to be assigned an advisor. HFO advisors are there to explain the process of applying for a medical licence in Ontario and they have job listings. It is their job to help doctors like you.
http://www.healthforceontario.ca/en/Home/Physicians

the only resource I know of for Alberta is this one: http://apljobs.ca/

In general, it is well known that a getting a canadian standard medical licence involves passing all canadian medical examinations: MCC EE, MCC QE Part I and MCC QE Part II, as well as the royal college exam. Having these credentials gives you the flexibility to apply for a medical licence in any province or territory.