Going back to Canada with MD from US

Discussion in 'Canada' started by Divine Comedy, Feb 23, 2017.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. Divine Comedy

Divine Comedy

Mar 27, 2016
    Dear all,

Got in one of my dream schools. Will hopefully be graduating from a top 3 medical school in the US few years down the road. I'm thinking of returning to Canada ultimately to practice for personal reasons. I hold a PhD related to one of the sub-fields in IM if it helps. I am also a Canadian citizen who does not hold a Green Card or US passport.

Hope to pursue IM followed by a fellowship such as cardiology, endocrinology, infectious diseases, or heme/onc. Ob/gyn is also a possibility, and so is derm.

What are the different pathways to go about doing this?

I heard it's best for me to complete my residency and fellowship in the States before heading back. Any suggestions?

Where could I find helpful information about licensing equivalents?

Any help is sincerely appreciated. :)

Last edited: Feb 23, 2017
  2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. mashmetoo

mashmetoo 7+ Year Member

Oct 25, 2008
    Toronto, Canada
    Physician
    It'll be a long and complicated process, with many things out of your control. What do you know so far? What research have you done into coming back?

You'll need to know about the following:
    US Visas - F1, H1B, J1, Health Canada, Statement of need
    US exams: USMLEs1,2ck,cs,3
    Canadian exam, MCCQE1,2
    Royal college assessment process.
    If Ontario - CPSO Pathway 3.

Once you know all of this, you'll begin to understand what it would take to come back.
    I went through a similar path, so I know this won't be easy.
    If you are feeling up for it, my book (signature) talks about exactly the things you need to know to pull this off.

keepontruckin04 likes this.
  4. ConfusedChemist

ConfusedChemist 2+ Year Member

Aug 5, 2014